How Long do I Have to Initiate an Injury Case in Massachusetts?
If you’re debating whether or not to hire an injury lawyer after an accident or injury in Massachusetts, there are a few things you need to know about your rights. Generally speaking, you typically have 3 years to file a personal injury lawsuit in Massachusetts, but there are some exceptions.
Most importantly - if you were hurt in an accident in which you were not at fault, you deserve to be compensated for your injuries and suffering. In fact, Massachusetts law protects your right to get the compensation you need to recover after an injury. It’s always worth consulting an accident or injury attorney to find out your options. Many Boston personal injury lawyers offer free consults, such as our lawyers at Spada Law Group.
We always suggest contacting an injury lawyer as soon as possible after an accident or injury. The sooner an attorney is involved, the better your case will go and the less stressful it will be for you because the injury lawyer will handle all the paperwork, communication with insurance companies and more on your behalf.
The statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits in Massachusetts: Time limits for injury cases
If you’re unfamiliar with the term “statute of limitations” it is a Massachusetts law that sets a deadline for how long you have from the date of your accident to either settle your personal injury case or file a lawsuit. Essentially, the statute of limitations starts the clock for all injury cases and that is why it is so important to speak to an injury attorney as soon as possible after your accident.
It’s technically possible to file a lawsuit after the statute of limitations window, but it’s a near certainty that it will be dismissed.
In Massachusetts, you have 3 years to file a personal injury lawsuit. The 3 year window applies to most injury cases in the state. If you want to file an injury lawsuit in Massachusetts to receive compensation for your harm and suffering, you need to do so within 3 years from the time of your accident or injury.
Exceptions to the 3 year deadline to file Personal injury lawsuits in Massachusetts
There are a few exceptions to the 3-year statute of limitations. In some injury cases, such as if your accident involved a member of the sheriff’s department, you have 4 years to file a personal injury lawsuit in Massachusetts. Some injury cases have shorter time frames, however. If you’re hurt by the MBTA in Boston, for example, you only have 2 years to file a personal injury lawsuit in Massachusetts.
Hit and run car accidents also have different timeline rules for filing a personal injury lawsuit in Massachusetts. The law requires that an injury case must be filed within 6 months after learning the identity of the driver or person responsible for the hit and run car accident. Overall, the personal injury lawsuit still has to occur within the 3 year window after a hit and run car accident.
There are a few other exceptions as well, such as if the person injured was a minor, so consulting an injury attorney about your particular Massachusetts injury case - even if you’re still considering whether or not to file a personal injury lawsuit - is always a good idea.
You have 3 years to file most personal injury lawsuits in Massachusetts - but you shouldn’t wait
While the law generously provides a timeline that you don’t have to rush to meet in terms of filing an injury lawsuit, the sooner you can start your case the better. Your injury case will have a higher chance of getting the type of settlement you need to recover from your injuries and suffering if an attorney is on the case from the beginning. It never hurts to start the process with an experienced accident lawyer soon after an injury because sometimes injuries can get worse over time or even take months or longer to surface. It really depends on the type of injury you’ve suffered.
The last thing you want is to be buried in medical bills and living in pain for something that wasn’t your fault, and a Massachusetts injury lawyer can help ensure you’re not put in that position. An injury lawyer will make sure your case is moving forward as it should, and can help you know which doctors to see and what kind of documentation will be needed for your case along the way. All the advice a personal injury lawyer can give you while you’re still recovering can only help your case be most successful.
Injured in Massachusetts? Our Boston-based Injury Attorneys can Help
Insurance companies will make you fight for your rights to recover after an injury or accident, and Spada Law Group is here to make sure it’s a fair fight.
You deserve to have a skilled personal injury lawyer on your side if you or a loved one have been injured due to someone else’s negligence. We have deep experience fighting for victims of car accidents, pedestrian and bicycle accidents, wrongful death, dog bite injuries and more.
Schedule a FREE initial consultation and case review for your potential Massachusetts Personal Injury lawsuit
You don’t pay us a dime until we win for you. Schedule your free consultation at our Chelsea Personal Injury law office today.
During the free consultation, our injury lawyers will look over your case and take the time to answer questions and let you know how we’d work with you to fight for your rights. You never know what kind of compensation your pain and suffering is worth, but as attorneys with three decades of experience, we can help you know exactly what you’re entitled to after an accident or injury.
Not only is the consultation free, but you’ll never have to pay us out-of-pocket. Prior to taking on your case, we discuss and agree upon what portion of your settlement the law firm will take as compensation for helping you successfully settle your personal injury case.